Additional information

Here you will find some additional information about me, my views and what to expect when you book a treatment with life Massage. If you require any further information or questions that are not covered here, then please feel free to contact me.

"If you dont take care of your body…

                                      … Where are you going to live?"

Bookings

Through the summer months my schedule can fill up quickly and I cannot typically accommodate a same or next day appointment request. Most clients schedule a week in advance to ensure they get their desired day and time. Autumn and winter can be quieter but it is always worth asking as I could have a cancellation or re-schedule that day.

All visitors must have an appointment. I do not accommodate walk-in customers. For questions, please contact me by text, phone or email. If I am not available, please leave a voice message or SMS.

Cancellations

Please re-schedule or cancel at least 24 hours before the beginning of your appointment or you will be charged 50% of your chosen treatment. Extenuating circumstances are obviously exempt. If you have cold or flu symptoms, PLEASE re-schedule; late cancellation fees will be waived if enough notice of this is given.

Insurance

At this time, I cannot bill your health insurance directly, but I'd be happy to help you discuss reimbursement options that may be available to you through your provider. I am working on accommodating this.

Allergies?

I use a Paraben free, non-scented, hypoallergenic, nut free neutral massage oil and similar aroma oils. You can find more details here. If you have specific allergies that can affect the massage, please note it on your intake form and remind me in person before we begin.

Deals or Specials?

Check out the prices page for discount block bookings or follow life Massage on Facebook where I often post one off discounts, contests to win free massages, reminders of ways to save, and seasonal specials. As well as blog updates and help and advice on your health.

Why a home Practice?

My practice is located in the first room of my home where I have a restroom available.

I want massage to be affordable for all clients who need it, so I try to keep my overheads low. I am fortunate that my home allows me to operate my practice instead of having to rent an extra commercial space. In turn, I pass those savings directly onto my clients by setting my service prices below market value for the area we live.

When should I arrive?

On time please, its as easy as that. I will allow enough time for you to enjoy your full treatment. The time you book is the length of your treatment not the time you are here so build at least 15 minutes extra into your schedule.

If you arrive more than 5 minutes early, please note my front door sign. It indicates if I'm still in session.

Which massage is for me?

Please take a look through the massage description pages to choose the right massage for you. You can pick what you would like but don't be afraid to ask for a combination treatment also. I am flexible with what I can do. So if you want a relaxing massage but maybe some deeper work on an area of concern, just mention it when you arrive or book. It wont be a problem.

Each and every treatment will be focused specifically for you, and my pressure, approach and technique can be changed each time for your particular issues or concerns.

What to expect.

First Massage

I will welcome you in and find out a little about you and what your expectations are. Then we can discuss your intake form or any recent health changes before we begin.

Clothing removal

My personal policy is: dress down to your comfort level. 

Before your therapeutic massage session begins, I will advise what clothing is best to remove for the effectiveness of the particular treatment and how to position yourself on the massage table. I then will leave the room for you to get comfortable. You can choose all, or nothing or anywhere in between. Whatever makes the massage right for you.

Once you get on the table, you are to get comfortable and all towels are provided for your massage. You do not need to bring your own.

Client comfort is what is most important and the bottom line is that we have options, and it's your call. Together we can determine how to make you comfortable, and the massage most effective.

The Treatment

I will re-enter the room, make sure everything is in order and begin your treatment. The goal of a focused massage is not always to just relax, it’s sometimes to treat specific issues or concerns. In this case I will ask questions during the massage and may also suggest various at-home care strategies. But if you have come to relax or for an aroma massage, you will experience perfect quiet and tranquility for you to become completely immersed in your massage.

At the end of our time, I will leave again for you to slowly get up and dressed.

Physical limitations

At the moment the practice has 4 steps to access the house. So if you require a wheelchair for mobility then unfortunately I cannot accommodate you at my home practice. I am hoping to rectify this situation in the future but for the moment, disabled wheelchair access is not possible.

Painful conditions

Please know that I do not believe that pain is gain. My massages are not the deepest tissue, they are deep enough tissue. My view is that it is important to observe muscle reactions and adjust my pressure accordingly.

Pressure varies from gentle to firm, but should never be painful. I focus on precision and results, not brute force.

Emotional concerns

Massage can seem a little awkward, intimidating, or could possibly trigger emotional reactions. Modern media or peoples lack of knowledge does not help either. A great option if these are areas of concern for you, is a pre-massage visit. Feel free to schedule a short visit before you book a treatment. To meet me, see the practice, and discuss any questions you may have.

My first language is English but please do not let this influence you decision for booking a treatment. My home is now here in Carinthia, and I am making every effort to learn German and to fit into the community. Every day it gets better and I absolutely guarantee that the quality of your treatment will not suffer as a result. Your body only speaks one language.

Pregnancy massage

First things first… Is Massage Therapy Safe During Pregnancy?

There are several rooted myths surrounding massage and pregnancy. As Massage Therapists we have a great opportunity to provide accurate context, debunk false knowledge, and encourage our clients to enjoy the benefits of massage during their pregnancy. Yet in doing so, we may cause friction, especially with new clients.

Simply put, there is no medical evidence that effectively demonstrates massage can induce labor, cause miscarriages, or create complications.

Physiologically, there’s no reason a pregnant woman couldn’t enjoy the same massage as someone who is not pregnant would. Pregnant women are not sick, nor (in general) do they have a condition that can be worsened through massage. They are often understandably sore, tired, or uncomfortable, but pregnancy itself is not an illness. Additional pillows, supports, or body positions may be required, but those types of accommodations come naturally to my client centred phylosophy.

While countless changes occur in the body during pregnancy, in general the body is not altered to the extent that you cannot enjoy a massage treatment. Muscles are still muscles, joints remain joints, nerves stay nerves. The effects of massage on those tissues remains the same.

What about massage of the feet and ankles?... Chances are, many women may have heard that this can induce labour, and some may become apprehensive or may avoid massage because of this.

There is no evidence or legitimate sources which prove that applying pressure to points on the feet or ankles will in turn cause uterus contractions. This wide-spread myth stems mostly from Reflexology, which is a belief system that some points on the body relate directly to various internal organs, and by pressing or massaging those points, we can stimulate those organs. The claimed points for the uterus and ovaries are on the ankles.

If it were that easy to kickstart the birth process, doctors and nurses would be spending much more time on women’s feet in the delivery room, and the use of hormones to induce labor would be obsolete.

© Ryan Evans 2017 | Email

Zusätzliche Informationen

Hier findest du noch weitere Informationen über mich, meine Ansichten und was du dir erwarten kannst, wenn du eine Behandlung bei life Massage buchst. Falls noch Fragen offen geblieben sind kannst du mich natürlich gerne auch direkt kontaktieren.

"If you dont take care of your body…

                                      … Where are you going to live?"

Buchungen

Während der Sommermonate kann sich mein Terminkalender sehr schnell füllen und kurzfristige Buchungen für denselben oder nächsten Tag sind oft nicht mehr möglich. Die meisten meiner Klienten buchen ca eine Woche im Voraus und können sich somit ihren Wunschtermin sichern. Herbst und Winter sind im Allgemeinen ruhiger. Trotzdem zahlt es sich immer aus nachzufragen, denn manchmal kommt es zu Absagen oder Planänderungen und Termine werden kurzfristig wieder frei. 

Ich arbeite ausschließlich nach Terminvereinbarung und eine Buchung im Voraus ist absolut notwendig. Du kannst mich über SMS, Telefon oder Email erreichen. Falls ich nicht erreichbar bin, hinterlasse bitte eine Nachricht auf meinem Anrufbeantworter oder per SMS.

Absagen

Ich bitte um Verständis, daß Terminänderungen oder Absagen nur bis spätestens 24 Stunden vor Behandlungsbeginn möglich sind und anderenfalls 50 % der Behandlungskosten verrechnet werden. Unvorhersehbare Umstände sind natürlich davon ausgenommen. Ebenso bitte ich dich um eine Terminverschiebung falls Erkältungs- oder Grippesymptome auftreten, auch hier fallen dir selbstverständlich  keine Kosten an, aber gib mir bitte ehestmöglich Bescheid. 

Versicherung

Im Moment kann ich leider nicht direkt  mit deiner Krankenversicherung abrechnen. Gerne bin ich aber bei einer eventuellen Rückvergütung behilflich. 

Allergien?

Ich verwende ein hypoallergenes neutrales Massageöl ohne Duftstoffe und Parabene, welches auch für Nußallergiker geeignet ist und weitere ähnliche natürliche Aromaöle. Weitere Details findest du hier. Wenn du an bestimmten Allergien leidest welche die Massage beeinflussen könnten, bitte ich dich dies beim Ausfüllen des Patientenformulars zu berücksichtigen bzw mich auch vor Beginn persönlich darauf hinzuweisen. 

Angebote

Es gibt reduzierte Preise für Blockbuchungen und immer wieder auch Spezialangebote auf meiner Facebookseite. Folge mir auf Facebook auch für weitere Gesundheitstipps, Gewinnspiele und für Neuigkeiten auf meinem Blog.

Warum befindet sich meine Massagepraxis bei mir zu Hause?

Der Massageraum ist gleich das erste Zimmer im Haus, Toilette und Garderobe sowie Parkplatz vor der Tür sind ebenso vorhanden. 

Ich möchte, daß meine Behandlungen idealerweise für alle die eine Massage brauchen leistbar sind und versuche deshalb, meine Kosten möglichst gering zu halten. Glücklicherweise ist es in meinem Zuhause möglich, eine Massagepraxis ohne Einschränkungen zu betreiben und ich nicht gezwungen bin, zusätzliche Räumlichkeiten zu mieten. Diese Einsparungen kann ich direkt an meine Kunden weitergeben, und dadurch sind meine Preise auch unter dem hier üblichen Durchschnitt.

Wann genau soll ich nun für meinen vereinbarten Termin kommen um pünktlich genug zu sein?

Zur Uhrzeit, die wir für deinen Termin gemeinsam vereinbart haben. Ich habe genug Zeit für deinen Termin eingeplant, daß du ohne Streß und Zeitdruck deine Behandlung zu Gänze auskosten kannst. Die Dauer die du bei mir buchst umfaßt nämlich die Zeit der tatsächlichen Behandlung und nicht nur die Zeit die du hier bist. Rechne mit mindestens 15 Minuten zusätzlich für die Vorbereitung und Nachbesprechung.

Wenn du mehr als 5 Minuten vor dem vereinbarten Termin hier sein solltest, achte bitte auf das Schild an der Eingangstür. So weißt du, ob ich schon wieder frei bin oder noch eine Behandlung stattfindet. 

Welche ist die richtige Massage für mich?

Eine ausführliche Beschreibung der verschiedenen angebotenen Behandlungen und Massagetechniken findest du hier. Such dir aus, was dir zusagt, aber auch Kombinationen sind möglich. In dieser Hinsicht bin ich sehr flexibel und werde alles dafür tun, daß jede einzelne Massage genau auf deine Bedürfnisse und Wünsche ausgerichtet ist. 

Wenn du also eine entspannende Massage wünscht, es aber auch Problemzonen gibt, die tiefere und eingehendere Behandlung benötigen, scheue dich nicht, das mir bei Buchung oder vor der Behandlung mitzuteilen. 

Was dich erwartet.

Die erste Massagebehandlung

Bei unserem ersten Treffen möchte ich dich gerne ein bißchen kennenlernen und deine Erwartungen und Wünsche besprechen. Wir gehen gemeinsam deinen Patientenfragebogen durch und klären eventuelle gesundheitliche Einschränkungen und medizinische Vorgeschichten bevor ich mit der Behandlung beginne.

Bekleidung

Mein persönlicher Grundsatz lautet: du sollst dich wohl fühlen.

Vor der Behandlung werde ich mit dir besprechen, welche Kleidung für die jeweilige Behandlung störend wäre und wie du dich am besten für die Massage auf dem Tisch positionierst.  Dann werde ich den Raum verlassen und du kannst dich in Ruhe umziehen und es dir auf dem Massagetisch gemütlich machen. Du kannst in jede Fall entscheiden, wieviel Kleidung du ablegen willst, um deine Massage voll zu genießen: ob alles, nichts, oder irgendwas dazwischen.

Alle für die Massage notwendigen Handtücher werden von mir zur Verfügung gestellt, du brauchst selber nichts mitzubringen. 

Wie gesagt, das wichtigste ist, daß du dich wohl fühlst, und gemeinsan können wir immer einen Weg finden, um die Massage möglichst effektiv und für dich so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. 

Die Behandlung

Wenn du fertig bist komme ich zurück in den Raum und wir können mit der Behandlung beginnen. Der Fokus einer individuellen Massage liegt nicht immer nur in der Entspannung, sondern es werden auch spezielle Beschwerden und Besonderheiten thematisiert und behandelt. In diesem Fall stelle ich während der Behandlung zielgerichtete Fragen und gebe auch gerne Ratschläge für Übungen und Strategien für zuhause. Wenn du hingegen eine reine Entspannungs- oder Aromamassage wünscht, biete ich dir einen Ort der Ruhe und Stille, um deine Behandlung im hier und jetzt voll und ganz auszukosten.

Am Ende der Behandlung verlasse ich den Raum wieder, und du hast genügend Zeit um langsam aufzustehen und dich wieder anzuziehen und fertig zu machen. 

Schwangerschaftsmassage

Also... Ist eine Massagetherpie während der Schwangerschaft eine sichere Angelegenheit?

Es gibt viele Mythen um das Thema Schwangerschaft und Massage. Als ausgebildete Massagetherapeuten bieten wir fundierte Informationen zu diesem Thema, können falsche Vorstellungen entkräften und dadurch Frauen ermutigen, die Vorteile einer Massage während ihrer Schwangerschaft voll auszukosten. Und doch gibt es, vor allem bei Massageneulingen, noch viele Berührungsängste.

Kurz gesagt, es gibt keine medizinischen Hinweise darauf, daß eine Massage Wehen oder gar eine Fehlgeburt auslösen kann oder andere Probleme verursacht. 

Physiologisch gesehen gibt es keine Gründe, warum eine schwangere Frau nicht in den Genuß einer Massage kommen sollte. Sie ist weder krank noch liegen im Normalfall Zustände vor, die sich eventuell durch eine Massage verschlechtern könnten.  Verständlicherweise kann man während der Schwangerschaft empfindsamer sein, sich müde oder unwohl fühlen, aber die Schwangerschaft selbst ist keine Krankheit. Oft braucht es mehr Kissen und Unterstützung, oder bestimmte Positionen für die Massage, aber das ist überhaupt ein selbstverständlicher Teil meiner Philosophie: immer steht die zu behandelnde Person im Mittelpunkt.

Während zahlreiche Veränderungen im Körper einer schwangeren Frau stattfinden, so wird dein Körper im Allgemeinen jedoch immer noch empfangsbereit für eine wohltuende Massage sein. Muskeln sind immer noch Muskeln, Gelenke bleiben Gelenke, die Nerven bleiben dieselben. Der Effekt einer Massage auf diese Gewebe bleibt bestehen. 

Aber was ist mit der Massage der Füße und Knöchel? Vielleicht hast du schon mal irgendwo davon gehört, daß dies angeblich Wehen auslösen kann und dadurch verunsichert bist. 

Es gibt keine Beweise oder sichere Quellen dafür, daß durch Druck auf bestimmte Bereiche der Füße oder Knöchel Uteruskontraktionen induziert werden können. Dieser Irrglaube entstand wohl aus Vorstellungen der Reflexzonenmassage. Diese besagt, daß bestimmte Punkte am Körper direkt mit inneren Organen verbunden sind, und durch Drücken oder Massieren dieser Punkte könne man somit diese Organe beeinflussen und stimulieren. Besagte Punkte für Uterus und Eierstöcke sollen sich eben an den Knöcheln befinden. 

Wenn es denn so einfach wäre eine Geburt einzuleiten, würden Ärzte und Krankenschwestern im Kreissaal viel mehr Zeit mit den Füßen der Gebärenden zubringen, und wehenfördernde und geburtseinleitende Medikamente wären längst obsolet. 

© Ryan Evans 2017 | Email